My favourite Beetroot Salad


I know beetroots are not everyone’s favoured choice of eats, but I absolutely love them! I love their earthy taste and bright colour which adds diversity to any meal. I made one of my favourite beetroot dishes this weekend at the braai – Beetroot, Mint & Red Onion Salad with a Dijon Mustard dressing. Although the salad was initially scorned by some; I think I may have just converted a few anti-beetroot-eaters into realising that beetroot isn’t just some soil-ridden root, not fit for human consumption…needless to say the dish did get polished off by the end of the evening.

This salad is a kind-of impromptu dish for me and comes straight out of my head, so be creative and use quantities that work for you. My salad is made from FRESH beetroot – this is then boiled so as to cook the beetroot through. Fresh beetroot is not always easy to find, but I know that most fruit & veg shops stock it as does the Pick ‘n Pay in Hyde Park.

 

Once cooked through (~40min), take off the boil and peel off the skins (these will slide off easily once boiled). Wait for the beet’s to cool and then slice very finely and lay out on a platter.

 

Thinly slice 1 red onion (for a less-sharp taste marinade the sliced onions in some red wine vinegar for 20min) & finely chop a handful of mint and scatter over the beet’s. Make the Dijon dressing by combining 2/3 oilve oil to 1/3 red wine vinegar, add 1tsp Dijon mustard, freshly squeezed juice from 1/2 a lemon & 1tsp brown sugar – you can alter quantities depending on taste. Pour the dressing evenly over the beet’s, onions and mint and then finely top with large chunks of danish feta.

Happy beetroot eating…

Leave a Reply

